Drop In Bestsellers

Trump on Trial: The Investigation, Impeachment, Acquittal and Aftermath

By Kevin Sullivan & Mary Jordan

Hardcover: pr5942730

Pub Date: Aug 2020


A compelling and masterful account, based on fresh reporting, of the investigation, impeachment, and acquittal of President Donald Trump, a ferocious political drama that challenged American democracy itself.

Pulitzer Prize–winning Washington Post reporters Kevin Sullivan and Mary Jordan have crafted a powerful, intimate narrative that concentrates on the characters as well as the dramatic events, braiding them together to provide a remarkable understanding of what happened and why.

Trump on Trial teems with unexpected moments. House member Elissa Slotkin, a Michigan Democrat, alone at the National Archives, walking amid the nation’s founding documents, weighing her vote on impeachment. Fiery Republican congressman Matt Gaetz of Florida, a favorite Trump warrior, deciding to lead the storming of the secure room in the US Capitol basement, where witnesses were testifying.

The authors paint vivid portraits of the men and women branded by the president’s supporters as foes from the “deep state”: Ukraine experts Fiona Hill and Lt. Col. Alexander Vindman; ambassadors Marie Yovanovitch and William Taylor. The narrative spools out amid Trump’s nonstop tweeting and the infinite echo chamber of social media, which amplified both parties’ messages in ways unknown during past impeachments.

Sullivan and Jordan, aided by editor Steve Luxenberg, follow the story into the aftermath of Trump’s acquittal and the president’s payback for those whom he believed had betrayed him. The retributions took place as the nation reeled from a devastating pandemic and widespread protests about racial injustice, with another trial looming: the 2020 election.

 

Print Run: 150,000


The Key to Fear

 

By Kristin Cast

Hardcover: pr5954123

Pub Date: Oct 2020


SERIES: KEY - BOOK 1.

Touch is lethal. Love is dangerous. Nobody is safe.

For fifty years, the Key Corporation has defended humanity against a deadly plague that spreads through touch. Lovers don’t hold hands, or even kiss. Personal boundaries are valued above all. Break the laws, and you’ll face execution.

Elodie, a talented young nurse, believes in the mission of the Key and has never questioned the laws that control her life. But Elodie is forced to break the rules to find a terminal patient who’s gone missing while under her care.

From the outside, it seems the Key has given Aiden everything he could want—a purpose, an education, and a future. But Aiden knows more than he’s letting on, and the dark secrets he’s keeping could tear the Key’s strict society apart.

When Elodie and Aiden’s lives collide, the fallout will be devastating. What do you do when the system that kept you safe is now on the hunt?

Run.

 

Ages 12+

 

Full List

Intimations: Six Essays

By Zadie Smith

Hardcover: pr5939542

Pub Date: Jul 2020


Deeply personal and powerfully moving, a short and timely series of essays on the experience of lock down, by one of the most clear-sighted and essential writers of our time.

Crafted with the sharp intelligence, wit, and style that have won Zadie Smith millions of fans, and suffused with a profound intimacy and tenderness in response to these unprecedented times, Intimations is a vital work of art, a gesture of connection, and an act of love - an essential book in extraordinary times.


Shadowplay

 

By Joseph O'Connor

Hardcover: pr5743997

Pub Date: Jun 2020


SHORTLISTED 2020 WALTER SCOTT PRIZE, 2020 DALKEY LITERARY AWARDS
FINALIST 2019 COSTA BOOK OF THE YEAR
WINNER: NOVEL OF THE YEAR, An Irish Post Book Awards

Shadowplay by New York Times bestselling author, Joseph O'Connor, is set during the golden age of West End theater in a London shaken by the crimes of Jack the Ripper.

A magnificent portrait both of lamp-lit London and of lives and loves enacted on the stage, Shadowplay's rich prose, incomparable storytelling, and vivid characters will linger in readers' hearts and minds for many years.

 
Found: A House of Night, Other World Novel

 

By P.C Cast & Kristin Cast

Hardcover: pr5954122

Pub Date: Jul 2020


SERIES: HOUSE OF NIGHT, OTHER WORLD - BOOK 4 (SEQUEL TO: FORGOTTEN, ISBN 9781538440742)

Fog rolls into Tulsa, and with it comes Darkness. Zoey knows something is up, and that the something involves Neferet, but Neferet can’t possibly be freed, right?

Other Neferet and her companion, Lynette, arrive in Woodward Park to set this world’s Neferet free from her grotto prison, and discover there may be those who sympathize with their cause. Meanwhile, Other Kevin and Other Stark are hot on their trail, but how can the new friends travel to this world without invoking Old Magick and paying a costly, perhaps deadly, price?

In Found, the culmination of the House of Night Other World series, a surprisingly talented fledgling, an immortal, and the unlikeliest of allies will band together with Zoey and the Nerd Herd. Will they be powerful enough to defeat her old nemesis, or will two worlds be destroyed and claimed by Darkness? Find out in the thrilling conclusion to the House of Night Other World series!

Ages 12+

 

Full List

The Big Life of Little Richard

By Mark Ribowsky

Hardcover: pr5939204

Pub Date: Aug 2020


The first major biography of Little Richard, a rollicking, nuanced celebration of the late singer/songwriter’s life and his role in the history of American music—gospel, soul, rock, and more.

The Big Life of Little Richard not only explores a legendary stage persona, but also a complex life under the makeup and pomade, the neon-lit duds and piano pyrotechnics, along with a full-body dive into the waters of sexual fluidity.

Too Much and Never Enough: How My Family Created the World's Most Dangerous Man

By Mary L. Trump

Hardcover: pr5923402

Pub Date: Jul 2020


In this revelatory, authoritative portrait of Donald J. Trump and the toxic family that made him, Mary L. Trump, a trained clinical psychologist and Donald’s only niece, shines a bright light on the dark history of their family in order to explain how her uncle became the man who now threatens the world’s health, economic security, and social fabric.

Mary Trump spent much of her childhood in her grandparents’ large, imposing house in the heart of Queens, where Donald and his four siblings grew up. She describes a nightmare of traumas, destructive relationships, and a tragic combination of neglect and abuse. She explains how specific events and general family patterns created the damaged man who currently occupies the Oval Office, including the strange and harmful relationship between Fred Trump and his two oldest sons, Fred Jr. and Donald.

A firsthand witness to countless holiday meals and family interactions, Mary brings an incisive wit and unexpected humour to sometimes grim, often confounding family events. She recounts in unsparing detail everything from her uncle Donald’s place in the family spotlight and Ivana’s penchant for regifting to her grandmother’s frequent injuries and illnesses and the appalling way Donald, Fred Trump’s favourite son, dismissed and derided him when he began to succumb to Alzheimer’s.

Numerous pundits, armchair psychologists, and journalists have sought to parse Donald J. Trump’s lethal flaws. Mary L. Trump has the education, insight, and intimate familiarity needed to reveal what makes Donald, and the rest of her clan, tick. She alone can recount this fascinating, unnerving saga, not just because of her insider’s perspective but also because she is the only Trump willing to tell the truth about one of the world’s most powerful and dysfunctional families.

Caillou: Everything Will Be Fine: A Story About Viruses

By Christine L'Heureux

Paperback: pr5937737

Pub Date: Jun 2020


COMPANION TO: THE DINOSAUR MUSEUM, ISBN 9782897185183.

Caillou is at day care playing dinosaurs with his friends, when their caregiver tells them something very important: a new sickness is going around. Caillou learns that the best way to protect himself from the virus is to stay at home and wash his hands a lot. Adapting to a new daily routine can be challenging, but Caillou discovers that he can still have fun! With a little help from technology,he stays in touch with Grandma and his friends.

Illustrator Eric Sevigny was born in Montreal, QC.

Ages 3 to 6


Love, Creekwood: A Simonverse Novel

 

By Becky Albertalli

Hardcover: pr5882510

Pub Date: Jun 2020


COMPANION TO: LEAH ON THE OFFBEAT, ISBN 9780062643803.

Fall in love all over again with the characters from the bestselling 'Simonverse' novels in this highly anticipated epilogue novella. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli, the movie 'Love, Simon', and the new Hulu series spin-off, 'Love, Victor'!

Ages 14+

Connect With Us Today

Library Bound (LBI) is Canada's premier material supplier to public libraries.  Connect with us to see how we can improve through reliable efficiencies and assisted delivery.

 

LBI