Audiobook Picks NewsFlash

Canadian Library Wholesaler

Canadian Library Wholesaler

B-Side Lists

B Side Current Cover

B Side Current Cover

Spring 2017

Fiction

Spring 2017

Non-fiction

Kids Collection Development

 

B Side Current Cover B Side Current Cover

Board Books Spring 2017

Early Readers Spring 2017

March A/V Catalogues

Bound to Be HitsBound For DVD

Web Ordering Login

USERNAME
PASSWORD

New Web Ordering Features

  • Cart Sharing – designate carts as shared or private allowing users to choose the access level of their carts

LBI Best Sellers

Current Best Seller List

Current Kids List

Adult Spring 2017
KIDS Spring 2017

LBI Graphic Novel List

Current Graphic Novel List

Library Bound Presents - Graphic Novel & Comic Anthology List

Spring 2017

Staff Favourites For March 2017

The following are a collection of titles selected by Library Bound staff as their favourites for the month.


Ron Stadnik Print Manager ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"The One Inside" by Sam Shepard

Something between a collection of vignettes, surrealism, short story and thinly veiled memoir that stretches in time from a boy of 13 to a man of 70. Atmospheric and haunting. Shephard is the Pulitzer Prize winning author of more than 55 plays and appeared in more than sixty films, including August, Osage County and an Oscar nomination for The Right Stuff. A forward by Patti Smith sets the mood here nicely.

Adult Fiction Hardcover LBN 1223569

"Running with Raven" by Laura Lee Huttenbach

Character study of a man that's been leading an eight mile run every night along Miami's South Beach since 1975. Robert "Raven" Kraft hasn't missed a single run, despite hurricanes, illness and loss. Anyone is welcome to join him each night, and thousands have, from around the world. Part of the charm of the story is that Raven's memory is every bit as obsessive as his running (plus he keeps lists, records and admits to being a hoarder) so there is an incredible wealth of material for the author to work with here. In over 40 years of running, virtually all of Miami has undergone radical change. Raven has seen it all, and keeps running through it. A great read for fans of The Orchid Thief or The Lost City of Z.

To find out more about the Raven Runs, visit www.ravenrun.net

Biography Hardcover LBN 1223279

To read more of Ron's Past Picks click here


Helen Wilding Cook Children's Collection Development Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"The Dark Days Pact" by Alison Goodman

This is the second Lady Helen Novel, a young adult paranormal, regency, fantasy series, by one of my favourite authors. Please refer to my May 2016 review of book one for more context.

Lady Helen has joined The Dark Days Club. It is a secret service affiliated with world governments, tasked with keeping humanity safe from an insidious foe. Thousands of demon creatures inhabit the world in human guise, feeding on human passion, greed, hatred, etc. Unlike 99% of people in the world, Members of The Dark Days Club possess the ability to see these demons and the uncanny strength needed to fight them. Lord Carlson is Lady Helen’s mentor. As he teaches her to martial her unusual strength and abilities, her selfhood also matures from a sheltered lady of privilege into a fierce, passionate, fighter. The close relationship that builds between them grows into emotional intimacy and physical attraction just as both characters and their relationship enthralls the reader. Young Adult series sometimes involve unconvincing steamy romances impeded by unlikely or feeble obstacles. In this novel we have the opposite. The forces keeping these honourable characters apart fundamentally define their selfhood. To be together, they would have to stop being themselves. Aside from these exquisite characters and their romantic plot and tension, the author has built a fascinating world with an intriguing conflict and political structure, unique paranormal elements, and peopled with supporting characters as engaging as these two central ones. I adore Lord Carlson and Lady Helen and can’t wait to see what happens to them in book three.

YA Paranormal FICTION - Hardcover LBN 1226441

To read more of Helen's Past Picks click here


Dan Patterson Graphic Novel Specialist/Cataloguing Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"Superman. Volume 1. Son of Superman " by Peter Tomasi, Patrick Gleason and Doug Mahnke

The beginning of Superman in the rebirth era sees the pre-52 Superman and Lois Lane returning to DC Comics in the wake of the death of the New 52 Superman.  Also along is their son Jon, who is just beginning to develop his own super powers in light of his half Kryptonian heritage.  The result is not just a tale of super battles against villains but also a tale of Superman being a father and a family man putting forth the most interesting Superman comic in years.

GRAPHIC NOVEL Paperback LBN 1234387

"Scooby Apocalypse. Volume 1" by Keith Giffen and Howard Porter

I wouldn’t have thought I’d be reading a Scooby-Doo comic in 2017 but DC Comics announcement  of a teen rated Scooby-Doo reboot set in a post-apocalyptic world was crazy enough to pique my interest, so when the opportunity came along I had to read it.  Yes, it is a post-apocalyptic story where the monsters the Scooby gang fight are real but it also manages to retain enough of the original to be truly Scooby-Doo.  Scooby Apocalypse is a fun comic and definitely worth a read.

GRAPHIC NOVEL Paperback LBN 1234415

"Forbidden Brides of the Faceless Slaves in the Secret House of the Night of Dread Desire" by Neil Gaiman and Shane Oakley

A short, darkly comical tale of an author filled with desire to write a great literary novel but being constantly interrupted by the travails of the gothic world he lives in. This is a great little tale by Neil Gaiman with a fun twist at the end.

GRAPHIC NOVEL Hardcover LBN 1234372

To read more of Dan's Past Picks click here


Tracy Reid Music & Video Game Manager ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

"The Shack: Music from and Inspired by The Original Motion Picture" by Various Artists

Featuring previously unreleased music from a wide range of contemporary stars, The Shack: Music From And Inspired By The Original Motion Picture includes a collaboration from multi-GRAMMY Award-winning singer/songwriter Kelly Clarkson GRAMMY-nominated soul artist Aloe Blacc; as well as offerings from CMA and ACM-winning solo country artist Dierks Bentley; multi-platinum country artist Lady Antebellum; 2x GRAMMY Award-winners for KING & COUNTRY; 6x chart-topping Country artist Brett Eldredge; and GRAMMY-nominated rock band NEEDTOBREATHE (Feat. Lauren Daigle), whose current album debuted at #1 on Billboard's "Top Albums" chart. In addition, the album also includes new exclusive tracks such as "Heaven Knows" from RIAA platinum worship band Hillsong UNITED and "River of Jordan (Feat. Breyan Isaac)" from GRAMMY-winning artist Lecrae and "Keep Your Eyes On Me" from Tim McGraw & Faith Hill.

Genre: Soundtrack Compact Disc - VRN 305700

To read more of Tracy's Past Picks click here


Anna Kardas
DVD Coordinator ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it your comments)

The Eagle Huntress

The Eagle Huntress follows Aisholpan, a 13-year-old girl, as she trains to become the first female in twelve generations of her Kazakh family to become an eagle hunter, and rises to the pinnacle of a tradition that has been typically been handed down from father to son for centuries.

BAFTA Award nominee for Best Documentary.

Genre: Documentaries

DVD VRN 304805

To read more of Anna's Past Picks click here