Ron

Ranger Games: A Story of Soldiers, Family and an Inexplicable Crime by Ben Blum

A very immersive, in depth look at a young Army Ranger's participation in a bank robbery, written by a cousin of the perpetrator. What starts off as something like a Manchurian Candidate for millennials broadens into a deeper look at family, identity, machismo, manipulation and the lies that exist in all of our lives.  It can't be over-stated just how much of a Russian nesting doll of a book this is; just when you think it can't get any weirder or more complex, it does.  Comparisons to Jon Krakauer are well deserved.

Adult Non-Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1276596

 

 

The Mariposa Folk Festival: A History by Michael Hill

So many stories about Canadian culture and heritage aren't told; the result of a small market in a huge country. Long time artistic director and unofficial festival historian Michael Hill contributes a lively record of the small festival that first began in Orillia in 1961 and continues to this day. In the beginning, only the Newport Folk Festival was doing anything similar; Mariposa was instrumental in developing the concept of workshops, crafts, kids stages, adding indigenous and world music components, and environmental practices that have since become common at festivals across the country. While repetitive at times, this is invaluable Canadian cultural history.

Adult Non-Fiction Paperback LBN pr1252918

 

 

The Half-Drowned King: A History by Linnea Hartsuyker

A page turning saga of ninth century Vikings during the violent birth of Scandinavia. Linnea Hartsuyker, in her fiction debut, manages a rare triple with a novel that will appeal to readers who appreciate a great story, compelling characters, and sense of place. The first of a trilogy, this Dewey Diva pick is worthy of obvious comparisons to Game of Thrones and the TV series The Lost Kingdom and Vikings.

Adult Sagas Hardcover LBN pr1264919

Brother: A Novel by David Chariandy

A short novel without a wasted word that packs a powerful punch, exploring issues of immigration, poverty, masculinity. family and racism, set in a Scarborough housing complex. Chariandy, co-founder of Commodore Books and whose debut novel, Soucouyantwas nominated for umpteen awards and prizes, writes like someone that should be teaching master classes. For readers of Colson Whitehead, Junot Diaz and Eden Robinson. A great addition to Canadian urban grit-lit.

Adult Fiction Hardcover LBN pr742025

 

 

Sugar Ride: Cycling from Hanoi to Kuala Lumpur by Yvonne Blomer

This thoughtful and poetic travel memoir unfolds in non-chronological order, jumping back and forth from the late 90's to present day. Diabetic Blomer is as much concerned with wondering what it means to be "The Other"  in a strange land, and the tricks of memory,  as she is about her insulin levels. This isn't a book for those looking for practical insights while planning to cycle tour SE Asia; there are guidebooks available for that sort of thing. This will appeal more to someone apt to read Cheryl Strayed or Bill Bryson, drawn to philosophy and anthropology as much as they might be to pedaling. Blomer is Poet Laureate of Victoria, B.C.

Traveller's Tales Paperback LBN pr1256369

Connect With Us Today

Library Bound is Canada's premier material supplier to public libraries.  Connect with us to see how we can improve through reliable efficiencies and assisted delivery.

 

LBI