Ron

 

Let Your Mind Run: A Memoir of Thinking My Way to Victory by Deena Kastor

Rhonda Byrne in running shoes. Self-help in sneakers. Deena Kastor began her career running with genetic talent but didn't begin to truly make progress until she committed to a coach who challenged her to work on her mental approach and her philosophy. A soaring read about discovery and making choices.

 

   

 

Adult Non-Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1303922

 

The Job of the Wasp by Colin Winnette

A Gothic Lord of the Flies crossed with The Turn of the Screw, filled with comedic horror from one of the most unique American fiction voices writing today.

 

 

 

Adult Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1291395 

What Doesn't Kill Us by Scott Carney

Our ancestors crossed the frozen Bering Strait half naked and these days, most of us require specialized high tech clothing just to dash from one climate controlled environment to another. Wim Hof, a Dutch fitness guru, argues that we still have the ability to control our body temperature and cure ourselves of diseases including diabetes and Parkinson's. Hof teaches these techniques in weekend workshops and has been leading climbs up Mt. Kilimanjaro, wearing nothing but shorts, for years. Investigative journalist and ethnographer Scott Carney studies with Hof to challenge these claims, and consults with scientists and Hof advocates like big wave pioneer Laird Hamilton. There are diversions for things like bone chilling obstacle course races done shirtless, training camps in Poland and underwater in Malibu, culminating in the author's own attempt up Kilimanjaro. This was a read in one sitting book for me (perhaps because it was -20 at the time?) More info on the Hof technique can be found at http://www.icemanwimhof.com/innerfire which you should at least glance at for the photos.

Adult Non-Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1226615

Cut You Down: A Wakeland Novel by Sam Wiebe

Second in the Wakeland series after Invisible Dead, Vancouver PI returns here to search for a missing college student. This morally complex and gritty mystery succeeds primarily on the strength of Wiebe’s ability to capture present day Vancouver, as Lotus Land continues to drift towards unaffordability and the fabric of community is torn apart. The PI genre has been done to death but in Wiebe’s hands it’s forgivable for his sense of place, social commentary, and realistic characters.

Adult Non-Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1303711

 

Chefs, Drugs, and Rock and Roll by Andrew Friedman

The evolution of the American restaurant chef through the 1970s & 80s. Told primarily as oral history through the people that lived it, Friedman includes not only the names all foodies know, but stories from line cooks, investors, food writers, and front of house staff. While this is a fast paced read, the title is misleading as Friedman is far more interested in trying to capture the history of something ephemeral (most restaurants don’t last and no one’s food ever does) than telling salacious tales of bad behaviour. Great culinary and cultural history, more for readers of The United States of Arugula and Bill Buford’s Heat than fans of Kitchen Confidential. Author Andrew Friedman, a former copywriter,  has collaborated on more than 20 cookbooks, including Classico e Moderno with Michael White, and is the founder of http://toqueland.com/ a chef focused website.

Adult Non-Fiction Hardcover LBN pr1306368

Connect With Us Today

Library Bound is Canada's premier material supplier to public libraries.  Connect with us to see how we can improve through reliable efficiencies and assisted delivery.

 

LBI